Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 865825

Summary: media-gfx/blender: build standalone cycles binary
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: PF4Public <PF4Public>
Component: Current packagesAssignee: Adrian <agrigo2001>
Status: UNCONFIRMED ---    
Severity: enhancement CC: darkdefende, proxy-maint
Priority: Normal    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
See Also: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=828880
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=377857
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description PF4Public 2022-08-19 21:08:48 UTC
Please consider building a standalone cycles binary.
This would enable it to be used in FreeCAD for rendering.
This shouldn't complicate the ebuild significantly as it presumably only needs "WITH_CYCLES_STANDALONE", "WITH_CYCLES_STANDALONE_GUI" and maybe "-lGLU" in  "CMAKE_EXE_LINKER_FLAGS". Look here for a reference: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-render/blob/master/docs/EngineInstall.md#notes-on-installing-cycles-for-render-standalone-version=

Reproducible: Always
Comment 1 Sam James archtester Gentoo Infrastructure gentoo-dev Security 2022-08-20 01:38:40 UTC
Thought we had a bug about this before but maybe not.
Comment 2 Sam James archtester Gentoo Infrastructure gentoo-dev Security 2022-08-20 02:29:50 UTC
Ah, kurly found bug 828880.
Comment 3 PF4Public 2022-08-20 11:39:13 UTC
I've seen that, but it was a separate ebuild. It is easily doable within the existing blender ebuild. One could probably hide this behind "cycles-standalone" USE flag, which is disabled by default.
Comment 4 Sam James archtester Gentoo Infrastructure gentoo-dev Security 2022-08-20 12:40:04 UTC
(In reply to PF4Public from comment #3)
> I've seen that, but it was a separate ebuild. It is easily doable within the
> existing blender ebuild. One could probably hide this behind
> "cycles-standalone" USE flag, which is disabled by default.

Bug 828880 wasn't for a separate ebuild?
Comment 5 Sebastian Parborg 2022-08-20 13:13:28 UTC
As stated in the commit message for the ticket Sam linked, the cycles flags are not really meant to be used for distributions or end users.

If you want to make Cycles a dependecy of an other package then you should use the official cycles repo for this.

https://developer.blender.org/diffusion/C/

Doesn't make too much sense to have freecad pull in Blender if they want to use the cycles render engine.