Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 83158

Summary: speedfreq-dynamic is not responsive to load
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: James Northrup <glamdring-inc>
Component: [OLD] UnspecifiedAssignee: Mobile Herd (OBSOLETE) <mobile+disabled>
Status: RESOLVED UPSTREAM    
Severity: minor    
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description James Northrup 2005-02-24 01:57:32 UTC
Speedfreq "dynamic" setting is cool (literally), it saves me from burning all my cpu's wattage while my firewall/router/printserver idles at 300mhz (on a 2400 p4), and it dials in the mhz required for a moderate program to run at .8 idle which leaves room for responsiveness to new load.

Every time I emerge it I hack this small tidbit in to solve the following author-documented idiosyncracy:

"but some applications may experience erratic performance because of the latency in speeding up the CPU."

When I ran vanilla speedfreq I would sometimes rifle through tons of diagnostics to locate the lag, before checking speedfreq.  slow decay is fine but slow response is not as useful.
 

Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1.
2.
3.



Expected Results:  
 
This one-line patch makes speedfreq perfect imho.  it spikes the cpu frequency
which will adjust itself down stepwise as usual. 


diff -u speedfreq-0.7.2/speedfreqd.c speedfreq-0.7.2b/speedfreqd.c
--- speedfreq-0.7.2/speedfreqd.c        2003-10-17 21:56:53.000000000 -0700
+++ speedfreq-0.7.2b/speedfreqd.c       2005-02-22 18:31:08.173420744 -0800
@@ -464,7 +464,7 @@
       }

       if (ratio < FREQ_UP)
-               target += FREQ_STEP;
+               target += FREQ_STEP*8;
       else if (ratio > FREQ_DOWN)
               target -= FREQ_STEP;
Comment 1 Henrik Brix Andersen 2005-05-07 10:44:27 UTC
sys-power/speedfreq is deprecated in favor of sys-power/cpufreqd due to unresolved bugs and lack of upstream activity.

If you would like to see this fixed, please contact upstream.