Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 74242

Summary: check for mounted /dev on boot
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: twist
Component: [OLD] baselayoutAssignee: Gentoo's Team for Core System packages <base-system>
Status: VERIFIED WONTFIX    
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description twist 2004-12-12 15:42:49 UTC
check, if /dev is mounted. the advantage is, that you can crypt the whole disk only using a kernel and an initrd.
problem: if /dev is mounted with the needed /dev/mapper/*-information for fsck,... the information gets lost when "overmountig" the new ramfs.

Reproducible: Sometimes
Steps to Reproduce:
for my crypt-disk i
Comment 1 twist 2004-12-12 15:42:49 UTC
check, if /dev is mounted. the advantage is, that you can crypt the whole disk only using a kernel and an initrd.
problem: if /dev is mounted with the needed /dev/mapper/*-information for fsck,... the information gets lost when "overmountig" the new ramfs.

Reproducible: Sometimes
Steps to Reproduce:
for my crypt-disk i´m using devfs on the pre-init-process and later udev. after initialising the /dev/mapper/* with cryptsetup i copy /dev/* to the new /dev-dir. theoretically this is only necessary the first bootup, cause on shutdown /dev is saved and on bootup restored. but, what will happen, if you update or change your filesystem.....





workaround:

in 
 /sbin/rc 
comment 
 try mount -n -t ramfs none /dev
out.
this is not nice....
Comment 2 SpanKY gentoo-dev 2004-12-12 16:25:36 UTC
set RC_DEVICES in /etc/conf.d/rc to 'static'
Comment 3 twist 2004-12-12 17:04:39 UTC
????

RC_DEVICES is never used in my /sbin/rc


        if [ "${udev}" = "yes" ]
        then
                ebegin "Mounting ramfs at /dev"

# new code
if [ -z "$(cat /proc/mounts  | awk '{ print $2 $3 }' | grep devramfs)" ] 
then
  try mount -n -t ramfs none /dev
  eend $?
fi
# end new code
# i do not like this if-statement

#######         try mount -n -t ramfs none /dev
#######         eend $?
                ebegin "Configuring system to use udev"
                if [ "${RC_DEVICE_TARBALL}" = "yes" ]
                then
                        einfo "  Populating /dev with device nodes..."
                        try tar -jxpf /lib/udev-state/devices.tar.bz2 -C /dev
                fi
                populate_udev
                if [ -e /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug -a -x /sbin/hotplug ]
                then
                        einfo "  Using /sbin/hotplug for udev management..."


Comment 4 SpanKY gentoo-dev 2004-12-12 17:10:53 UTC
you're using baselayout 1.9.x

upgrade to 1.11.7-r2 or better
Comment 5 twist 2004-12-12 17:15:05 UTC
cool service :D - this was very fast.... thx. ill try it tomorrow ;) .... now its too late