Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 622574

Summary: sci-libs/vtk-6.1.0-r4 will not rebuild: ninja: error: '/etc/java-config-2/current-system-vm/jre/lib/amd64/xawt/libmawt.so', needed by 'lib/libvtkRenderingCoreJava.so', missing and no known rule to make it
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: deference
Component: Current packagesAssignee: Gentoo Science Related Packages <sci>
Status: UNCONFIRMED ---    
Severity: normal CC: deference, jstein, mattsch
Priority: Normal    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: AMD64   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---
Attachments: build.log
emerge --info

Description deference 2017-06-24 03:49:11 UTC
I'm not certain what caused this.

[ebuild   R   ] sci-libs/vtk-6.1.0-r4  USE="R X all-modules boost doc ffmpeg gdal imaging java json mpi mysql odbc postgres python qt5 rendering smp tbb tcl theora tk views xdmf2 (-aqua) -cg (-examples) -kaapi -offscreen {-test} -web" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" VIDEO_CARDS="-nvidia"
Comment 1 deference 2017-06-24 03:49:30 UTC
Created attachment 477780 [details]
build.log
Comment 2 deference 2017-06-24 03:49:47 UTC
Created attachment 477782 [details]
emerge --info
Comment 3 Matthew Schultz 2017-07-19 19:53:33 UTC
I would say installing vtk-7.1.0 would fix the problem but if you have an application (opencascade-6.9.1-r2) that still depends on vtk under qt4, you are stuck with this version.  It appears that there is hope that this will change at least for opencascade in bug 624194.
Comment 4 Matthew Schultz 2017-07-19 20:00:45 UTC
(In reply to Matthew Schultz from comment #3)
> I would say installing vtk-7.1.0 would fix the problem but if you have an
> application (opencascade-6.9.1-r2) that still depends on vtk under qt4, you
> are stuck with this version.  It appears that there is hope that this will
> change at least for opencascade in bug 624194.

Sorry actually my qt4 comments relate to -r3 of this package since -r4 uses qt5.  I was getting the same error with -r3 but after I installed icedtea-bin-7 and switch my system-vm to that instead of icedtea-8, I was able to get -r3 to compile and install.