Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!
Bugzilla DB migration completed. Please report issues to Infra team via email via infra@gentoo.org or IRC

Bug 617774

Summary: app-eselect/eselect-vi-1.1.9: vis doesn't show up in 'eselect vi list'
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Thomas Capricelli <orzel>
Component: Current packagesAssignee: Vim Maintainers <vim>
Status: CONFIRMED ---    
Severity: enhancement CC: contact, eselect, jstein, proxy-maint
Priority: Normal    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---
Attachments: patch to add vis to eselect-vi

Description Thomas Capricelli 2017-05-07 22:15:52 UTC
Once app-editors/vis-0.3 is installed, I can't see it with eselect : 

% eselect vi list
Available vi implementations:
  [1]   vim *
  [2]   nvim
  [3]   busybox
Comment 1 Ulrich Müller gentoo-dev 2017-05-13 18:48:22 UTC
Not a problem of eselect proper, but of the vi module. Reassigning to its maintainer (namely, vim project).
Comment 2 sirvertalot 2020-02-29 01:36:46 UTC
Despite not showing up in $ eselect vi list, you can still set the symlink:

$ eselect vi list
Available vi implementations:
  [1]   vim
  [2]   busybox

$ eselect vi show
Current vi implementation:
  vis
Comment 3 sirvertalot 2020-03-01 13:53:03 UTC
Created attachment 616722 [details, diff]
patch to add vis to eselect-vi

This works, although you need to unmask ~amd64 because only eselect-vi-1.1.9-r1 is EAPI>5.