Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 54432

Summary: the Ruby debugger needs multiple input of the same command to do it once
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Uwe Hartl <uwe.hartl>
Component: [OLD] DevelopmentAssignee: Gentoo Ruby Team <ruby>
Status: RESOLVED LATER    
Severity: normal    
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: x86   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Uwe Hartl 2004-06-19 10:39:49 UTC
I tried it with ruby-1.8.1-r7.ebuild and ruby-1.8.1-r6.ebuild
With ruby*r6 I was able to fix it with deleting the line 
epatch ../${P}-${SNAP_DATE}.diff
With ruby*r7 I did not find the line any more.

Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1.emerge ruby
2.ruby -r debug h.rb
3.n (multiple times)

Actual Results:  
ok, here the contents of h.rb: 
puts "Hello, world!" 
puts "Hello, world!" 
puts "Hello, world!" 
 
That's it. Now the session copied from the shell: 
bash-2.05b$ ruby -r debug h.rb 
Debug.rb 
Emacs support available. 
 
h.rb:1:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:1:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:1:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:1:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:1:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
Hello, world! 
h.rb:2:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:2:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:2:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:2:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:2:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
Hello, world! 
h.rb:3:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:3:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:3:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:3:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
h.rb:3:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
Hello, world! 
bash-2.05b$ 
 

Expected Results:  
bash-2.05b$ ruby -r debug h.rb 
Debug.rb 
Emacs support available. 
 
h.rb:1:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
Hello, world! 
h.rb:2:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
Hello, world! 
h.rb:3:puts "Hello, world!" 
(rdb:1) n 
Hello, world! 
bash-2.05b$ 
 

bash-2.05b# emerge info 
Portage 2.0.50-r8 (default-x86-1.4, gcc-3.3.3, glibc-2.3.3.20040420-r0, 
2.6.5-gentoo-r1) 
================================================================= 
System uname: 2.6.5-gentoo-r1 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1600MHz 
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16 
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r4 
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.5-r1 
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86" 
AUTOCLEAN="yes" 
CFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=pentium4 -funroll-loops -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer" 
CHOST="i586-pc-linux-gnu" 
COMPILER="gcc3" 
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control" 
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d" 
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -mcpu=pentium4 -funroll-loops -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer" 
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles" 
FEATURES="autoaddcvs ccache sandbox" 
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://ftp.ussg.iu.edu/pub/linux/gentoo" 
MAKEOPTS="-j2" 
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages" 
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp" 
PORTDIR="/usr/portage" 
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="" 
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage" 
USE="3dnow X aalib acpi alsa apache2 apm avi berkdb bonobo cdr crypt cups dvd 
dvdr encode esd f77 foomaticdb gdbm gif gnome gphoto2 gpm gtk gtk2 gtkhtml 
guile imagemagick imap imlib java jpeg junit kde ldap libg++ libwww mad mikmod 
mmx motif mozilla mpeg ncurses nls oggvorbis opengl oss pam pcmcia pda pdflib 
perl png postgres python qt quicktime readline ruby sdl slang socks5 spell ssl 
svga tcltk tcpd truetype unicode usb wmf x86 xinerama xml2 xmms xv zlib" 
 
 
I don't know what else to inform about. I am always happy to help. If it is not 
reproducable I would also provide the login to my machine for a limited time. 
 
Uwe
Comment 1 Mamoru KOMACHI (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2004-06-20 08:12:12 UTC
I confirmed it. 1.8.1 and 1.8.2 (2004.06.05) doesn't have the problem,
so there was some change about it inbetween 1.8.1 and 1.8.2 (2004.06.05).
I'll make a patch to fix it.
Comment 2 Mamoru KOMACHI (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2004-07-17 03:00:03 UTC
Sorry I didn't have time to backport a patch to it.
I added ruby-1.8.2_pre1, which includes a fix for it.