Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 54194

Summary: dev-libs/crypto++-5.1-r1 failes to compile
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Evert <evert.gentoo>
Component: [OLD] LibraryAssignee: Gentoo Linux bug wranglers <bug-wranglers>
Status: RESOLVED INVALID    
Severity: normal CC: gentoo-bugs
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: x86   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Evert 2004-06-17 04:38:15 UTC
summary says it all...

Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1. emerge dev-libs/crypto++

Actual Results:  
[...cut...]
g++ -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -c zdeflate.cpp
g++ -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -c zinflate.cpp
secblock.h: In member function `T& CryptoPP::SecBlock<T, A>::operator[](I)
   [with I = unsigned char, T = unsigned int, A =
   CryptoPP::FixedSizeAllocatorWithCleanup<unsigned int, 286,
   CryptoPP::NullAllocator<unsigned int> >]':
zdeflate.cpp:513:   instantiated from here
secblock.h:238: warning: comparison is always true due to limited range of data
   type
g++ -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -c zlib.cpp
zinflate.cpp: In member function `bool CryptoPP::Inflator::DecodeBody()':
zinflate.cpp:502: warning: unreachable code at beginning of switch statement
g++ -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -c bench.cpp
g++ -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -c test.cpp
g++ -O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe -c validat1.cpp
g++: Internal error: Killed (program cc1plus)
Please submit a full bug report.
See <URL:http://bugs.gentoo.org/> for instructions.
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:81987: Warning: end of file not at end of a line; newline inserted
{standard input}:82571: Error: suffix or operands invalid for `mov'
make: *** [validat1.o] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

!!! ERROR: dev-libs/crypto++-5.1-r1 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 33, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)



Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16
Portage 2.0.50-r8 (default-x86-1.4, gcc-3.3.3, glibc-2.3.3.20040420-r0, 2.4.26)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.4.26 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2600+
distcc 2.13 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59-r3
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -pipe"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs buildpkg ccache sandbox"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="X apm arts avi berkdb cdr crypt cups directfb encode esd foomaticdb gdbm
gif gnome gpm gtk gtk2 imlib java jpeg ldap libg++ libwww mad mikmod mmx motif
mozilla mpeg mysql ncurses oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl png python qt
quicktime readline ruby sdl slang sse ssl svga tcpd tiff truetype x86 xml2 xmms
xv zlib"
Comment 1 Peter Jensen 2004-06-17 07:24:28 UTC
Not actually a bug, but this package requires a *lot* of RAM/swap during compile.
In /var/log/messages you'll probably find a line that says something like this:

kernel: VM: killing process cc1plus

One solution could be to change MAKEOPTS to -j1, so only one compile process is active at any one time.
That may not be enough, though, so you might want to add some temporary swap.
Try this:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/tmp/tmpswap bs=1M count=1k
mkswap /tmp/tmpswap
swapon /tmp/tmpswap

This will make a 1G temporary swap file, which should be enough to compile this package.
Once done, you can safely disable the swap (swapoff /tmp/tmpswap) and delete it.
Comment 2 Evert 2004-06-17 08:14:47 UTC
Amazing, and I have 1 gig internal memory!
while :; do free ; sleep 1 ; done
shows me one time
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       1033828     978468      55360          0      42956      65068
-/+ buffers/cache:     870444     163384

Looks like this time I was more lucky; didn't have to change MAKEOPTS and/or create swap...
ThanX!
Comment 3 Peter Jensen 2004-06-17 09:05:21 UTC
It did indeed cut close with that package.
Having had OpenOffice or Mozilla open might have made all the difference.
Don't expect to be as lucky with merging app-accessibility/flite, though.
I tried that yesterday, and it ate all RAM and swap, so when I saw the swap usage approach critical,I had to create some emergency swap space ...
You can mark this bug as resolved with the resolution INVALID.
Comment 4 Evert 2004-06-17 09:11:28 UTC
Well, I still had mozilla open, but maybe less pages, but that could easily have made the difference...
Didn't know I can close a bug myself ;-)