Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 530152

Summary: Multilib Qt5
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Michał Górny <mgorny>
Component: EclassesAssignee: Qt Bug Alias <qt>
Status: CONFIRMED ---    
Severity: enhancement CC: idarktemplar, mrueg, multilib, rossi.f, sven.koehler
Priority: Low    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---
Bug Depends on: 497312, 454132    
Bug Blocks: 542062, 516488, 530154    

Description Michał Górny archtester Gentoo Infrastructure gentoo-dev Security 2014-11-22 23:27:05 UTC
Let's start the bug since I need it for blockers :).
Comment 1 Malte E. 2015-02-02 04:53:25 UTC
Just a thought - is this only for completeness or because there actually is qt5 software out there that needs multilib qt5? What I need multilib for is wine and a couple of binary blobs that still haven't been ported to amd64. I don't know about any closed source software that uses qt5.
Comment 2 Karol Herbst 2015-02-21 15:20:29 UTC
I don't understand the blocks of this bug. sni-qt doesn't need a multilib qt5 (#516488)

and what packages needs multilib versions of qt5, so that avahi and libdbusmenu-qt has to be 32bit qt5? Is qt5 multilib really needed or is it just for completeness?
Comment 3 Yukari 2015-11-09 17:44:32 UTC
There is Shashlik from KDE Team, that use core, gui and widgets 32 bit libraries.
Comment 4 i.Dark_Templar 2017-10-19 18:07:18 UTC
I've implemented qt5-multilib build (using multilib_copy_sources to skip private dirs issue). Currently you can find it here (along with building qt5 examples):

https://github.com/iDarkTemplar/dt-overlay-patches

Only exceptions currently are qtspeech and qtsql packages. qtspeech is non-multilib at the moment and qtsql should fail to build if it's built for non-native ABI with USE-flags "freetds" or "postgres" enabled.