Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 490358

Summary: sys-apps/portage: when using git repo directly, version should include git sha1
Product: Portage Development Reporter: Agostino Sarubbo <ago>
Component: RepomanAssignee: Portage team <dev-portage>
Status: RESOLVED OBSOLETE    
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: Normal    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Agostino Sarubbo gentoo-dev 2013-11-04 09:38:19 UTC
I just noticed a commit like this:

Portage version: HEAD/cvs/Linux x86_64, signed Manifest commit with key 6D34E57D

I don't know which version is this. I think there should be the next tag version instead of HEAD.
Comment 1 SpanKY gentoo-dev 2014-01-05 21:38:47 UTC
seems to me like it already does:
    local _version=$(cd "${S}/.git" && git describe --tags | sed -e 's|-\([0-9]\+\)-.\+$|_p\1|')
    _version=${_version:1}
    einfo "Setting portage.VERSION to ${_version} ..."

the ebuild output:
>>> Preparing source in /var/tmp/portage/sys-apps/portage-9999/work/portage ...
 * Producing ChangeLog from Git history...
 * Setting portage.VERSION to 2.2.7_p67 ...
 * Adding FEATURES=xattr to make.globals ...
patching file make.conf.example
>>> Source prepared.

so you'll have to cc the specific person whose commit you saw go by so we can figure out why their system isn't logging things correctly.  or maybe they're running `repoman` directly from the git repo.
Comment 2 Agostino Sarubbo gentoo-dev 2014-01-05 22:47:23 UTC
Tom, aren't you?
Comment 3 Tom Wijsman (TomWij) (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2014-01-06 00:21:14 UTC
The git repository is in use here, not the ebuild.