Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 440450

Summary: media-libs/libgphoto2-2.4.14: some elog messages should only be shown for the first install.
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: poletti.marco
Component: Current packagesAssignee: Gentoo Linux Gnome Desktop Team <gnome>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: normal CC: graphics
Priority: Normal Keywords: InVCS
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 440214    

Description poletti.marco 2012-10-31 10:58:52 UTC
Disclaimer: this bug has been filed in a semi-automated manner.

When emerging the package media-libs/libgphoto2-2.4.14, the following elog messages are displayed:

 * Upstream will not support you if you do not compile all camera drivers first
 * Don't forget to add yourself to the plugdev group 
 * if you want to be able to access your camera.

Such messages should only be displayed when the package is a new install.
These situations can be checked in the ebuild as follows:

if ! has_version 'media-libs/libgphoto2'; then

See the tracker bug 440214 for more details.
Comment 1 Gilles Dartiguelongue gentoo-dev 2012-10-31 12:56:38 UTC
The first message needs to be printed at each merge imho.
The second can most likely be updated (wrt consolekit+udev-acl) and indeed printed only once.
Comment 2 Pacho Ramos gentoo-dev 2012-11-17 13:32:36 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> The second can most likely be updated (wrt consolekit+udev-acl) and indeed
> printed only once.

Time ago someone tried us to move away from needing plugdev group... but no idea how did ended, do you have any idea Gilles?
Comment 3 Gilles Dartiguelongue gentoo-dev 2012-12-16 12:38:29 UTC
+  16 Dec 2012; Gilles Dartiguelongue <eva@gentoo.org>
+  libgphoto2-2.4.14-r1.ebuild, libgphoto2-2.5.0.ebuild:
+  Hide plugdev message when it is not needed, bug #440450.

The warning about building support for all cameras will stay as it is
important for us that users are aware of it when reporting upstream and the
message about plugdev will be hidden if the system provides alternative way of
getting priviledges for interacting with the camera.

This should satisfy your request. If it does not, feel free to reopen this
bug. Thanks for reporting.