Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 281129

Summary: alsa-utils-1.0.20-r4 error message loop for old alsa always fails
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Ed Wiget <security>
Component: [OLD] UnspecifiedAssignee: Gentoo Linux bug wranglers <bug-wranglers>
Status: RESOLVED INVALID    
Severity: normal    
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: AMD64   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Ed Wiget 2009-08-11 18:18:58 UTC
The code in the ebuild for alsa-utils-1.2.0 for the old asla config will always fail because it is duplicated:

pkg_setup() {
        if [[ -e "${ROOT}etc/modules.d/alsa" ]]; then
                eerror "Obsolete config /etc/modules.d/alsa found."
                die "Move /etc/modules.d/alsa to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf."
        fi

       if [[ -e "${ROOT}etc/modprobe.d/alsa" ]]; then
               eerror "Obsolete config /etc/modprobe.d/alsa found."
               die "Move /etc/modprobe.d/alsa to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf."
       fi

}

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. emerge --sync
2. emerge -uvD alsa-utils
3. emerge always fails even if pkg_setup not true

Actual Results:  
expect it to continue if file not found.  This works as expected:

pkg_setup() {
        if [[ -e "${ROOT}etc/modules.d/alsa" ]]; then
                eerror "Obsolete config /etc/modules.d/alsa found."
                die "Move /etc/modules.d/alsa to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf."
        fi

#       if [[ -e "${ROOT}etc/modprobe.d/alsa" ]]; then
#               eerror "Obsolete config /etc/modprobe.d/alsa found."
#               die "Move /etc/modprobe.d/alsa to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf."
#       fi
}
Comment 1 Ed Wiget 2009-08-11 18:24:36 UTC
oops, I misread that error message, but I was still getting the error message even though /etc/modules.d/alsa did not exist and /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf did.  Only way I could get it to compile and install was to comment out the second check.
Comment 2 Samuli Suominen (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2009-08-12 02:08:06 UTC
It's not duplicate.

There shouldn't be modules.d/alsa or modprobe.d/alsa, both are deprecated...,
so you must have modprobe.d/alsa still left.