Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 255864

Summary: kde-misc/knetworkmanager: automake called by maintainer-mode
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) <flameeyes>
Component: New packagesAssignee: Robert Buchholz (RETIRED) <rbu>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX    
Severity: QA CC: bugzilla
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
URL: http://blog.flameeyes.eu/2008/06/13/maintaner-mode
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---
Bug Depends on: 253788    
Bug Blocks: 226305    
Attachments: Build log
knetworkmanager-0.2.2_p20080528.ebuild update to fix the issue reported by Diego

Description Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2009-01-22 00:35:00 UTC
Hello,

You're receiving this canned (template-based) bug report because I found a problem with a package during my tinderbox run.

The package in question is running automake (and most likely other autotools) during compile phase by maintainer-mode. You can see in my blog post in the URL field why that's a problem, and how to address the issue, but in general, you don't want maintainer-mode rebuild during compile phase, especially since it can cause multiple run of econf.

The causes of maintainer-mode rebuild are various, but most likely it's because of a patch that changes Makefile.am or configure.ac/in and don't rebuild autotools properly. The way to fix this is almost always to inherit autotools eclass and run eautomake/eautoreconf (as needed; eautoconf should only be used when automake is not involved, which is not the case here) during src_unpack phase.

Thanks,
Diego
Comment 1 Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2009-01-22 00:35:17 UTC
Created attachment 179248 [details]
Build log
Comment 2 Jorge Manuel B. S. Vicetto Gentoo Infrastructure gentoo-dev 2009-01-31 21:00:28 UTC
Created attachment 180470 [details, diff]
knetworkmanager-0.2.2_p20080528.ebuild update to fix the issue reported by Diego

The attached diff should fix the issue reported by Diego.
Comment 3 Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2009-01-31 21:17:09 UTC
If knetworkmanager uses KDE's admin/ directory that's the wrong fix.

The correct fix would be rm -f "${S}/configure"
Comment 4 .:deadhead:. 2009-10-18 12:24:50 UTC
Now that networkmanagere-0.7 has been stabilized all the knetworkmanager [kde3] are going to have problems... Can you please review and integrate the fix?