Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 228491

Summary: www-client/mozilla-firefox-bin-3.0 add dependency to gnome-base/gconf-2
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Stephan Diehl <stephan.diehl>
Component: New packagesAssignee: Mozilla Gentoo Team <mozilla>
Status: RESOLVED CANTFIX    
Severity: normal CC: gnome, mpartap
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: AMD64   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Stephan Diehl 2008-06-20 10:45:48 UTC
start firefox-bin (3.0) without installed gnome (and gconf-2)

#> firefox-bin

/opt/firefox/crashreporter: error while loading shared libraries: libgconf-2.so.4: connot open shared object file: No such file or directory

libgconf-2.so.4 is in gnome-base/gconf-2

#> emerge -av \>gnome-base/gconf-2

but now libgconf-2.so.4 is under /usr/lib64 and not /usr/lib32. which one is used by firefox-bin? the error is still the same.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. emerge firefox-bin-3.0 without gconf installed
2. 
3.
Comment 1 Raúl Porcel (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-06-20 15:04:30 UTC
I'm not sure, but i think thats not going to work...mozilla-firefox-bin is a 32bits binary, so it can't use 64bits libs...
Comment 2 Gilles Dartiguelongue gentoo-dev 2008-06-20 15:27:59 UTC
what are we supposed to do here ?
Comment 3 Raúl Porcel (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-06-20 15:36:08 UTC
Just confirm that i'm right or wrong :P
Comment 4 Gilles Dartiguelongue gentoo-dev 2008-06-22 23:31:08 UTC
(In reply to comment #1)
> I'm not sure, but i think thats not going to work...mozilla-firefox-bin is a
> 32bits binary, so it can't use 64bits libs...
> 

well yeah afaik this is not working, either it's 32 bits binary + 32 bits libs or 64 bits binary + 64 bits libs, a mix doesn't work.
Comment 5 Raúl Porcel (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-06-24 16:57:44 UTC
Can't fix
Comment 6 Daniel Gryniewicz (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-06-27 17:32:29 UTC
This would need to be in on of the emul-linux-x86 packages.
Comment 7 Marcel Partap 2009-02-04 22:29:59 UTC
Well as of now the "Gnome Configuration System" is in none of the emul packages.. Shouldn't app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-gtklibs take it in?
Comment 8 Daniel Gryniewicz (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2009-02-06 01:41:36 UTC
You'll have to talk to amd64 about that; they own the emul-linux-x86-* packages.  Presumably nothing binary so far has needed gconf.