Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!
Bugzilla DB migration completed. Please report issues to Infra team via email via infra@gentoo.org or IRC

Bug 206957

Summary: net-p2p/ktorrent includes an internal copy of GeoIP
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) <flameeyes>
Component: New packagesAssignee: Timo Gurr (RETIRED) <tgurr>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: normal CC: kde, net-p2p
Priority: Highest    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-01-22 00:05:39 UTC
Symbol GeoIP_assign_region_by_inetaddr@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code3@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code3_by_addr@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code3_by_ipnum@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code3_by_name@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code_by_addr@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code_by_ipnum@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_code_by_name@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_id_by_addr@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_id_by_name@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_name_by_addr@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_name_by_ipnum@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3
Symbol GeoIP_country_name_by_name@@ (64-bit UNIX System V ABI AMD x86-64 architecture) present 2 times
  /usr/lib64/kde3/ktinfowidgetplugin.so
  /usr/lib64/libGeoIP.so.1.4.3

(and more even above and down)

Considering TorK already uses external GeoIP, this should be a good improvement for KDE users...
Comment 1 Ioannis Aslanidis (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-02-05 21:50:40 UTC
I didn't notice this bug was assigned to me. I'll have a look at it as soon as I can.

Thanks Diego.
Comment 2 Ioannis Aslanidis (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-02-06 20:00:12 UTC
Could you recheck please?
Comment 3 Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-02-11 19:57:41 UTC
For what it's worth, KTorrent _already_ provides a switch to use system geoip, no patch needed.
Comment 4 Ioannis Aslanidis (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-02-11 22:28:40 UTC
(In reply to comment #3)
> For what it's worth, KTorrent _already_ provides a switch to use system geoip,
> no patch needed.

Can we close this bug? Is there anything missing?
Comment 5 Diego Elio Pettenò (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-02-11 22:34:10 UTC
For the ebuild to actually use that switch :)
Comment 6 Timo Gurr (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2008-02-15 19:35:55 UTC
This is kinda tricky since regardless of --disable-geoip and --disable-system-geoip the kde3 version of ktorrent links to its own geoip since the infowidget seems to need. I've bumped to -r1 which has a hard DEPEND on geoip now.
Thanks Diego for helping out on IRC.