Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!

Bug 101447

Summary: Ethernet interfaces not configured correctly when combining VLAN and ALIASES
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: Pavel Uhliar <uhlik>
Component: [OLD] baselayoutAssignee: Roy Marples (RETIRED) <uberlord>
Status: RESOLVED INVALID    
Severity: normal    
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: x86   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description Pavel Uhliar 2005-08-05 08:38:44 UTC
When trying to configure more than 1 alias (more than 2 IP addresses) per 802.1q
VLAN interface, startup script brings up only the first alias.


Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1. Use following in /etc/conf.d/net
vlans_eth1="100"
ifconfig_eth1_100=(
        "1.1.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 1.1.1.255"
        "2.2.2.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 2.2.2.255"
        "3.3.3.3 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 3.3.3.255"
)

2. reboot the system / restart the network service


Actual Results:  
# ip addr l dev eth1.100
7: eth1.100: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue
    link/ether 00:0a:e4:13:da:35 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 1.1.1.1/24 brd 1.1.1.255 scope global eth1.100
    inet 3.3.3.3/24 brd 3.3.3.255 scope global eth1.100:1


Expected Results:  
# ip addr l dev eth1.100
7: eth1.100: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue
    link/ether 00:0a:e4:13:da:35 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 1.1.1.1/24 brd 1.1.1.255 scope global eth1.100
    inet 2.2.2.2/24 brd 2.2.2.255 scope global eth1.100:1
    inet 3.3.3.3/24 brd 3.3.3.255 scope global eth1.100:2


Bug occurs only when configuring aliases on VLAN interface, it is OK on plain
(non-VLAN) interface - try changing ifconfig_eth1_100 to ifconfig_eth1)
Comment 1 Roy Marples (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2005-08-05 10:52:49 UTC
You neglected to state which baselayout version - also, you're using the old
ifconfig syntax. This works with baselayout-1.12.0_pre4

config_eth1=( "null" )
vlans_eth1="100"
config_eth1_100=(
        "1.1.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 1.1.1.255"
        "2.2.2.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 2.2.2.255"
        "3.3.3.3 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 3.3.3.255"
)