Gentoo Websites Logo
Go to: Gentoo Home Documentation Forums Lists Bugs Planet Store Wiki Get Gentoo!
Bugzilla DB migration completed. Please report issues to Infra team via email via infra@gentoo.org or IRC

Bug 101220

Summary: lib-compat-1.4 needs ~amd64
Product: Gentoo Linux Reporter: grischa <grischa.toedt>
Component: New packagesAssignee: AMD64 Project <amd64>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: High    
Version: unspecified   
Hardware: AMD64   
OS: Linux   
Whiteboard:
Package list:
Runtime testing required: ---

Description grischa 2005-08-03 09:30:29 UTC
The ebuild is lacking the keyword for amd64 architecture.


Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
Comment 1 Simon Stelling (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2005-08-03 09:36:13 UTC
which ebuild? there are quite a lot...
Comment 2 grischa 2005-08-03 09:40:54 UTC
Sorry, i forgot to mention:
lib-compat-1.4.ebuild

Is there any amd64 support planned?
If i do a local overlay and add the keyword, i get an:

line 22: cd: /var/tmp/portage/lib-compat-1.4/work/lib-compat-1.4/amd64: No such
file or directory

Comment 3 Simon Stelling (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2005-08-03 09:50:25 UTC
you don't need to create an overlay for this, just `echo "sys-libs/lib-compat
~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords` then, emerge it. if it works fine,
please report back and we'll add the keyword
Comment 4 grischa 2005-08-03 10:00:09 UTC
You need a coffee!

Why should i add an unmask for an x86 architecture on an amd64 bit machine????

(..and by the way the proper command would be:
echo "=sys-libs/lib-compat-1.4 ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords ;-)

But as i said the packaged is masked by: MISSING KEYWORD

So, is there no amd64 support for the ebuild?
Comment 5 Herbie Hopkins (RETIRED) gentoo-dev 2005-08-03 10:03:48 UTC
This is a binary package, containing some libs needed (mostly) to run binary
apps compiled with older version of gcc. Which app are you trying to run? if
it's a 32bit app then try emul-linux-x86-compat (which contains x86 version of
this package). I don't know of any binary 64bit app that needs these libs which
is why no amd64 has been added here.
Comment 6 grischa 2005-08-03 10:08:16 UTC
Ahhhh! Thx...i will try it.

Maybe it would be usefull to mention that somewhere in the description of the
ebuild.